Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Class A Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 05-04-2023, 09:01 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Auto leveling, use of ramps or blocks?

Hi all,

I have read and re-read several replies and just want clarification.

I have a 30 ft 2022 Vista and I am still new to auto-leveling as this is my first Class A. I usually turn on the leveling system when I'm pulling into a spot to initially see which sides are off. I try to park as level as possible and then use the auto level. My front wheels have sometimes been maybe one or two inches off the ground. Sometimes a rear jack may be off the ground a little.

Is it better practice to use ramps for the front tires of the motorhome or use the stacking blocks under the level jacks prior to using the auto level system? Will this stabilize more?

Sorry to be repetitive in the questioning from other posts I've read, but I like to learn what others have done. I really appreciate any substantive answers and feedback and I love this site!!!

Thank you in advance!
Cocoa Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2023, 08:31 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

You should always try to get level without lifting the tires off of the ground. If you suspect tires are going to be off drive up on some sort of blocking so they at least stay in contact with the blocking.
Old 05-04-2023, 08:53 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

What Tim said. Lifting tires off the ground makes bending a jack more likely, and never lift the rear tires off the ground as they are the only parking brake you have.
Conversely, you can manually level the coach and keep jack extension to a minimum..