Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Class B Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 10-26-2024, 10:48 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

2016 ERA 70C Battery Charging Issue

I am new to the ERA RV. I had issues with my battery - it was down to 7 volts. Had it checked and replaced. Seemed fine - charging when the engine is running.

But we are camping now and the battery level keeps going down. I don’t think the converter is charging it while connected to SP. I checked the breaker and fuse. Both seemed good.

Is there a reset button in the physical converter? And if so, is the converter behind the breaker panel?

Thanks for any help!
TdykstraRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2024, 12:27 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

I suspect there is a stand alone converter and spot that on some. But to get down to the correct location, we will need more info as there are several different models of 2016 Era and each has early and late builds.
To get to the correct info can you spot which Era?
Click image for larger version

Name:	era.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	190222
If not on hand, you can often get the correct serial number (NOT VIN!) to check the 7th digit, on a label next to the drivers left side! 1 for early, 2 for later year build!

Meanwhile one "quickie way to test if the converter is getting charge to the batteries is somewhat easy.
Put a voltmeter on the coach batteries without the RV engine running but while plugged to power.
If you test the voltage with converter breaker off and then compare it when turning the breaker on, there should be a higher reading if the converter charge is getting to the batteries!