Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-19-2023, 06:58 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Tacoma and 2100BH compatibility?

I’m a newbie about to purchase a 2023 2100BH Mini Winnie.

I have a 2023 Toyota Tacoma that appears to have the capacity to tow the 2100BH, but I need some expert opinion on if my truck can safely pull it (outside the RV dealer) before I pull the trigger.

The Tacoma has a 6400 lb towing capacity, 5600 GVWR, 4445 lb curb weight, 640 lb tongue weight.

The 2100BH specs are showing 5500 GVWR, 4049 lb dry weight, 448 lb dry hitch weight.

I’ve never done these calculations. Are my vehicle and this 2100BH mini Winnie safe and compatible? Any help would be greatly appreciated before I make a big purchase.

Thanks.
newguy123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2023, 07:25 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Note these numbers on the label inside the Tacoma driver side door jamb.
GVWR
Front GAWR
Rear GAWR
Payload, or Cargo Carry Capacity (CCC)

These are the numbers you should not exceed.
With a mid-size pickup, you’re most likely to exceed Rear GAWR and CCC
Although Toyota website says payload is between 1,065 and 1,685lbs
The higher the level of trim the lower the CCC will be.
There are members of the forum towing with Tacomas, BUT

Dry hitch weight doesn’t have much meaning. Your actual wet weight will be close to 600#.
Your actual wet trailer weight will approach 4,700# with full fresh water.