Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNIEOWNERS COMMUNITY FORUMS > Welcome Mat
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-21-2024, 07:22 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

New Member with 2011 Access Class C

Hi my name is Russell Davis and we own a 2011 Winne Access motorhome.
We rent it on RV Share and Outdoorsy. I'm a machinist by trade and own a business that makes dash tools for most all vintage cars. I want to learn maintenance tips for our RV. At the moment I'm having issues with the chassis system not charging the coach batteries. I believe teh coach has a BIM system? and I'm looking to learn how to diagnosis the system
Thanks
bluechip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2024, 10:53 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

That's a really good place to start for understanding some of the "weirdness" we get in RV! It is also one of the more frequent causes of trouble for different reasons.
Since we talk it so much, I know it pretty well, so I can give an overview.

One frequent problem on forums is we miss some details on which RV and there can be some details different on different floorplans. I looked at three different models of this one and they all seems to show a mode solenoid, rather than the later solid state BIM system.
For less trouble the BIM is better but for ease of spotting and repair, I like the solenoid. Solid stat hides lots of things I like to see?
Contacts on it close/open every time we start the engine so arcing can be a trouble cause! But also easier to figure and cheaper to replace!
To "decode" Id on wires or from drawings use this chart as it gives "from" and "to" of wires as help to figure what they do:
https://www.winnebago.com/Files/File...ical_guide.pdf

Click this snip of the drawings to see better or go direct here:
Click image for larger version